top of page
Writer's pictureDy Mae Amor Juarez

Being a Filipino

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

A Filipino belongs to a mixture of races, although basically, he is a Malay. Centuries of cultural and commercial contacts with other countries and almost four centuries of domination by the West have made the Filipino comparatively sophisticated. A blending of the East and West that his character exhibits unique contradictions that foreigners are likely to misunderstand. Basically, a Filipino is a natural-born citizen who lives or may not lives in the Philippines but has recognized his national identity. He or she acquires his/her citizenship right after he was born. Whether a Filipino is natural-born or not, he or she is compassionate, strong-minded, and shares the same goals and aspirations for his or her country.


I am a Filipino in the sense that I belong to the same mixture of cultures, and I share a common language. However, it is not only here that I can declare myself as one. I am a Filipino because I have the same trait as many other Filipinos, which is (1) being hospitable. Whenever anybody happens to visit my home, I'd continuously make sure they feel "VIP." My family would offer delightful food and give the best plates that we ever had, even if we don't use them regularly. We would treat our guests warmly to make them feel comfortable, and it wouldn't be a mind for us to share our privacy. I am a Filipino because (2) I have close ties with my relatives. Unlike western cultures who leave their homes at the age of 18, I, like other Filipinos, lives and keeps in contact with my family even if the time comes where I have my own. I desperately feel the need to pay back what they have spent for me. In fact, I would always share with my family the rewards and benefits that I would get from whatever contest. Moreover, Filipinos are known for having many occasions, and on every occasion, "salo-salo" is imperishable. We ought to have family reunions annually as we think it is necessary to know our relatives. They say to get to know Filipino; you have to know their family tree, which is basically a family forest. In every choice that I made, my family's decision must come first because I, like many Filipinos, (4) respect the elders. No matter how right or wrong an elder might be, he or she must be obeyed. No matter how many degrees you have, it could not be compared with their experiences. Our lola's would say" "papunta ka pa lang, pabalik na ako." I am a Filipino because, like many others, I also believe in the (5) works of fate, which we can often manifest in the phrase "Bahala na." This is similar to the phrase that we say, "whatever happens, happens," or the line "come what may."


More than that, I am a Filipino because I see other cultures as important as mine. I give value to the practices and rituals of our fellow brothers and sisters. I recognize our rich culture of diversity from Luzon's most north region to the most south part of Mindanao. I support our national representatives and celebrate fellow Filipino achievements, like Pacquiao's and Catriona's victories. Our resilience and the quickness to adapt to whatever challenges hit us are what make me a proud Filipino.






7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page